India set to host FIFA U-17 Women’s World Cup in 2020

The All India Football Federation confirmed on Friday that India will be hosting the FIFA U-17 Women’s World Cup in 2020, three years after hosting the U-17 Men’s World Cup.

India had hosted the FIFA U-17 Men’s World Cup in 2017. (@IndianFootball Photo)

India have been confirmed as the hosts of FIFA U-17 Women’s World Cup in 2020, All India Football Federation’s twitter handle announced on Friday. Ever since India hosted the FIFA U-17 Men’s World Cup in 2017, they were in talks to host the U-17 Women’s World Cup as well and they were confirmed as hosts on Friday.

By virtue of being the hosts, India’s U-17 women’s football team will be part of the World Cup. This will be only the second time that India will play in a FIFA World Cup.

The last time India played in a World Cup was the U-17 Men’s World Cup, where also India qualified by virtue of being the hosts.

India had hosted the U-17 World Cup in 2017 successfully and all of the national team’s games were held in New Delhi at the Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium, where they had an average attendance of 50,000.

The final of that tournament was held at the Salt Lake Stadium in Kolkata, where England defeated Spain to lift the U-17 Men’s World Cup.

When India host the U-17 Women’s World Cup next year, Spain will be defending their title. In the 2018 edition of the event, Spain had defeated Mexico in the final to lift the title.

Also, New Zealand and Canada had finished third and fourth in the event last year.

Javier Ceppi, the tournament director for the FIFA U-17 Men’s World Cup that India hosted in 2017, took to Twitter after the news was confirmed and expressed his happiness.

Also AIFF president Praful Patel took to Twitter and said, “A very proud moment and a honour that our country #India and #AIFF has been confirmed as the host of #FIFA U-17 Women’s World Cup in 2020. We will strive to make it a grand success.”

Get real-time alerts and all the news on your phone with the all-new India Today app. Download from

  • Andriod App
  • IOS App

Source link

Related posts

Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy: Karnataka crush Mumbai; Bengal, Vidarbha and Jharkhand win


Dipa fails to qualify balanced beam final, to compete in vault final on Saturday | other sports


All England Championships: Momota 1st Japanese to win title, Chen Yufei stuns Tai Tzu


David Warner will be the player of the 2019 World Cup: Shane Warne


Wolverhampton Wanderers beat Manchester United 2-0 to reach FA Cup semis


KKR Batting Line-Up Strongest In IPL 2019, Claims Simon Katich


Leave a Comment